Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join SPSP
The Donald T. Campbell Award
Share |

Award Description

Past Recipients

Past Citations

The Donald T. Campbell Award recognizes distinguished scholarly achievement and ongoing sustained excellence in research in social psychology. This award honors an individual who has contributed and is continuing to contribute to the field of social psychology in significant ways. It is not limited by research area or methodological approach to social psychological science.

The recipient receives a $1000 honorarium. The Campbell Award recipient gives an address (with the Block Award and the Distinguished Scholar Award recipients) at a special plenary session during the SPSP convention.



2013 Timothy Wilson
2012 Daniel Wegner
2011 John Dovidio
2010 Russ Fazio
2009 Susan T. Fiske
2008 Carol Dweck
2007 Michael Scheier, Charles S. Carver
2006 John A. Bargh
2005 David Kenny
2004 Mark Snyder
2003 Robert Cialdini
2002 Hazel Markus
2001 Claude Steele
2000 Richard Petty, John Cacioppo
1999 Abraham Tesser
1998 Arie Kruglanski
1997 Mark Zanna
1996 E. Tory Higgins
1995 Shelley Taylor
1994 Tony Greenwald
1993 Alice Eagly
1992 Marilynn Brewer
1990 Bernard Weiner
1988 Robert Rosenthal
1986 Bibb Latane
1984 Ellen Berscheid
1982 Richard Nisbett
1980 Elliott Aronson




Timothy DeCamp Wilson has made social psychology a more interesting and more important field. He is a brilliant experimentalist and insightful theorist whose research examines the many ways in which people are mistaken about themselves—mistaken about the causes of their past actions, about the unitary nature of their present attitudes, about the duration of their future happiness. Although his contributions are wide-ranging—from reasons analysis to unconscious attitudes to affective forecasting—each explores the limits of self-insight, and explains how and why we are strangers to ourselves. In addition to being an innovative and influential scientist, Wilson is a citizen-activist who "gives psychology away” in newspapers, textbooks, and trade books, and who works tirelessly to ensure that public policy is informed by scientific fact. Wilson is the Sherrell J. Aston Professor of Psychology at the University of Virginia, an Elected Fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and an Elected Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


Dan Wegner is internationally recognized for the originality and quality of his scholarship. He is known within and beyond social psychology for his work on the role of thought in self-control and in social life. In particular, his work on thought suppression has been highly influential, showing that people who are asked not to think about something become preoccupied with thinking about that very thing. As a result, we often end up thinking about the doubts, worries, fears, and alarms that we have tried to erase from our minds. A creative and generative theoretician, his research has also broken new conceptual ground in exploring: transactive memory, or how people in groups and relationships remember things cooperatively; action identification, or what it is that people think they are doing; and conscious will and apparent mental causation, or how we are sometimes misled into thinking that we are the authors of our actions. In each of these research areas, he has identified a topic that had been neglected by previous researchers and conducted highly original and provocative experiments to demonstrate both the importance of the phenomenon and the value of the theoretical ideas he offered to account for it. Dan Wegner has been a Fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, and he is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is a recipient of the William James Fellow Award from the Association for Psychological Science, the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award from the American Psychological Association, and the Distinguished Scientist Award from the Society of Experimental Social Psychology.


John Dovidio has a stellar track record in research on stereotyping, prejudice and discrimination. In particular, together with his long-time collaborator, Samuel Gaertner, he has shown how contemporary forms of prejudice and discrimination toward Blacks and other disadvantaged groups are more subtle and less recognizable than traditional racism. Through his work on the negation of stereotypes and on the common ingroup identity model, he has also shown how to overcome the pernicious consequences of stereotyping and favoring the ingroup. In a research domain dominated by cognitive approaches, he has shown the value of embracing a variety of methods and measures, including the study of nonverbal behavior and emotion regulation, and the combination of both explicit and implicit measures. He has also made major contributions to research on interpersonal helping and prosocial behavior, through the development of the "arousal: cost-reward” model of helping. Moreover, he has shown a consistent concern to explore the social policy implications of his and others’ research. In addition to his many research achievements, he has been a terrific ambassador for the field of social psychology, working tirelessly to build bridges and to develop the discipline internationally.

Each year nominations are made by a SPSP Campbell Award Nomination Panel.  Nominations are not accepted for this award.

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?


Mailing List Rental


SPSP Convention
APA Convention
European Summer Program
Australasian Summer Program


Dues Hardship
Printable Form



Character & Context Blog
Endorsed Links



Site FAQ
Forum FAQ
Terms of Use